Real time automation - improvements

Got a great idea for the future of LMMS? Post it here.
Forum rules

Make sure to search to see if your idea has been posted before! Check our issue tracker as well, just to make sure you are not posting a duplicate: https://github.com/LMMS/lmms/issues

I'm not sure if this is quite the right place to post this. I think there's a form as well - but I can't find the details of that right now.

I'm exploring with automation. I'm very new to this. However, it seems needlessly difficult. It may not be easy in other tools, such as Logic or Reaper, but it is nevertheless easier in those tools.

In particular it should be possible to do at least global automation in real time.

As I type this I was listening to Beethoven's Violin Sonata No 5, and trying to adjust the tempo. I can vary the tempo in the global automation editor - in real time - but I want to get the trajectory of the variations into that automation editor. As far as I can see, the automation editor doesn't follow the music. I should be able to fix points to modify the tempo dynamically, and also see where the points are in relation to the bars in the original track (in the Song Editor). I know that the numbering of the Song Editor and the Global Automation editor may be different, but they should actually be the same as I've aligned them.

I need to get control of this. I've established that I can do tempo variations, but I need to get the trajectory for the control recorded, so that it could be tweaked - if necessary - later.

A bit of an update. I've got better control of this, but it's still not good enough.