How do you keep your songs simple?

Questions about producing? Ask them here.
My main genre is progressive house and I'm still learning but my biggest hurdle right now is deciding what the song needs and what it doesn't need. I've noticed that when I listen to my finished tracks there's a ton of stuff that doesn't really need to be in there and it makes the mix sound way too busy.

So, how do you keep it simple and decide what a song needs?
Just to clarify, my version of keeping it simple means that the structure of the song is done before the sfx and other sounds are there.

For example, sometimes i grab a kick and work on that, or a chord and a melody and put in 8 blocks, 16 if I feel like it.

The point is, if you put too much from the get go, you won't know what's wrong in the first place, so "keep it simple" from the beginning so you won't get lost.
gibson87 wrote:
Sun Apr 26, 2020 7:21 pm
My main genre is progressive house and I'm still learning but my biggest hurdle right now is deciding what the song needs and what it doesn't need. I've noticed that when I listen to my finished tracks there's a ton of stuff that doesn't really need to be in there and it makes the mix sound way too busy.

Good advice from Jaknife
I just would add that before you have a great melody, no effects should be added at all.
Most great composer only uses a grand-piano, and everything else comes after the good melody has been created

Besides that, since you are new in Forum
Welcome gibson87 !
Here are all important links:
viewtopic.php?f=1&t=4740
-A few rules and useful forum instructions
gibson87 wrote:

I am still learning as well. In fact, my songs might be too simple. To find a balance, start small, and build the song, gradually making it more complex. Then eventually you will know when to stop adding stuff. This is my formula:
1. Create a simple melody in my head (for the chorus).
2. Put the melody in LMMS, using an instrument that sounds closest to the instrument in my head.