LMMS CPU usage overload

Having trouble with LMMS? Ask about it here.
Hello all,

This is my first post on this site, so bear with me.
I have been using LMMS for several years now. I love the program and find it very useful.
But recently, I changed my system from Ubuntu 13.04 with gnome classic (on which LMMS functioned properly) to Ubuntu studio 12.04.2 due to some stability issues I had with 13.04. Oh my computer is an Acer AspireOne with 2GB RAM and an intelAtom processor.
Since I made the switch to Ubuntu Studio, whenever I open LMMS and open a project, the CPU usage meter lingers in the yellow-red range at all times, even when nothing is playing sound. When I do try to play sound/samples it hits the red and all sound falls out.
I'm not sure why it is using so much CPU, as I said it didn't before, and I made the switch to Ubuntu studio because of the low latency kernel that was supposed to be for things like this. Anyway, I followed the advice from some various posts and played with the buffer size/latency slider in setting which made it sound horrible, but not change the CPU usage problem. I also tried giving the exact location of the sound card because it was suggested that that may also be an issue. It made no difference. I also tried making very low quality samples that also made no difference.

This initially started with the package that was in the default repositories. And I read that it was a bug from some older version of LMMS so I got the PPA for the update as per the instructions on the LMMS website and updated to version 0.4.14-rc1.
The problem didn't change.

So I was wondering if anyone had any ideas as to what I could do. Either a way to set Ubuntu studio so it runs nothing else, perhaps there is a terminal session that I can only run LMMS from? Or would it be better to use Jack to handle the sound? Or is there a stable version of LMMS maybe?
Its very frustrating because LMMS ran fine on this very computer before and I don't know what to do....