No MIDI-keybord support on Mac?? MAC experts needed badly!!

Having trouble with LMMS? Ask about it here.
Hello,
I am very new to this so please bear with me if it turns out I'm just being very stupid and this is an easy fix (which I hope it is). I am trying to use a microkorg xl synth as a MIDI controller but cannot figure out how to get it to work, When I go to the MIDI settings in LMMS, all there is is the dummy option and there are no others. My operating system is OSX Yosemite, is there something I need to install or do to fix this?

Code: Select all

I changed your tittle a little, because we need help here :p -In fact anyone with good MAC knowledge,can really help the LMMS project, if they made some MAC related articles in our WIKI -Anyone ??  - mB 
Ciao halpplz,
I'm also new to lmms, but as of my understanding, there is currently no support for midi on OSX platform.
Midi is supported with Alsa (not available for Mac), OSS and WinMM (not available for Mac). The normal lmms is not compiled with OSS, so all you can see is the dummy adapter.
I tried to use the OSS, I could compile lmms with it, I installed the liboss library, but there is no driver, server or other kernel module creating the devices (it works differently on OSX, in linux you would perform an insmod and it would create a device like /dev/midi or /dev/dsp, or whatever it is supposed to be). So I can not configure OSS in lmms with a working device.
I think you did all you could as user.

I'm writing a midi adapter for OSX, the same way it is already available for windows with WinMM. It compiles and receive input from my keyboard (Yamaha), but the code is far away from being ready.
This is probably not the right answer but there is a utility application which should help you configure your MIDI keyboard:

/Applications/Utilities/Audio\ MIDI\ Setup.app