Getting a kick louder without recieving distortion

Questions about producing? Ask them here.
Hi everyone,

I'm quite new to LMMS but ambitious about creating original house/d'n'b tracks. But whenever I try to make a good beat, I stumble upon a problem that i just can't get solved:

When creating a kick drum in ZynAddSubFX, I manage to get it deep and soft, just as I want it. The problem is, i can't get it loud enough compared to the other instruments. Playing the kick on solo and raising the volume of my speakers leaves the kick fine, but trying to mix it with whatever fader (instrument volume, ZASFX master volume, track volume, FX-Mixer volume) distorts the sound instantly.
I know that this has to do properties of digital audio processing (bitdepth?) and I can get around it by making everything else more quiet instead of making the kick drum louder and then turning the speaker up. However, I can't possibly lower the volume of every other track in the project just to make the kick loud enough.
So is there any other way of raising the volume of a track without distorting it? Maybe some tweaks in the properties of LMMS? Or do I have to modify the sound of the kick drum in ZynAddSubFX in oder to get it right?

I would really appreaciate some help and want to thank anybody who can help me in advance.
higgs wrote:However, I can't possibly lower the volume of every other track in the project just to make the kick loud enough.
Why not, that's the obvious solution ? If the kick is already running into clipping you simply can't have it any louder. And if you won't reduce the things that are making it seem too quiet there's not a lot left to do. Of course it may just be that you have it so soft and deep that there's plenty of energy there but whatever you're monitoring with isn't actually able to transmit the sound.