LMMS not saving files in educational setting

Having trouble with LMMS? Ask about it here.
I am a high school teacher and I am currently teaching LMMS as part of a class on digital music production using Ubuntu Studio. I have had persistent, nagging problems with students losing work from day to day. Sometimes their file is gone completely and sometimes the file has reverted back to a earlier day's work. I am used to students making mistakes in not saving their work or saving over work, but in many cases I am convinced it is not human error. Has anyone else had issues with lmms losing files or keeping the file but not saving the latest work?

I have been trying to figure out the cause of the problems and these are some of my ideas:

Permissions issues. Most of my students this year are not on administrator accounts. Last year all my students had administrator accounts and furthermore ran lmms using "sudo lmms" to fix some issue I have forgotten. Is it possible that the file saving, even in the home folder/working directory, does not work as well without proper permissions?

"Recover" file - I think in some cases students have opened the recover file and found their latest work, done work in that file, and then saved it. Of course the file erases next time they open a new file. This is not a bug obviously, just a knowledge issue.

Multiple users - I have at least two student accounts per computer. Is there any file-sharing done by lmms that would destroy data on one account when another is in use?

Thanks!

Oh one more unrelated issue: both of my soundfont files that we use (Timid and Fluid) run errors constantly in the terminal (usually something like CRITICAL fluid_synth_font_unref) any ideas?
Hi. Well, I'm no Lmms programmer, but there were, a few previous posts on this forum, pertaining to saving problems. However I can't seem find them. :?